Skip to content

Please choose from the following:

Wesleyan RSM Trainee of the Year award winner announced

Dermatologist Dr Zahra Ahmed has been named the 2016 Wesleyan Royal Society of Medicine Trainee of the Year.

She received the accolade for her research involving the screening of more than 3,700 drug compounds to identify that Flubendazole, a drug used to control human and animal worm infections, could be re-purposed for use in disease treatment or prevention in conditions including HIV.

Dr Ahmed said: "It was an honour to be shortlisted for the award by the Royal Society of Medicine and to win the award itself was extremely gratifying and humbling. The presence of so many esteemed individuals at such awards does much to encourage, guide and advance the thinking of younger generations of doctors starting out on their careers."

Dr Neeraj Sethi (RSM Laryngology & Rhinology Section) was awarded second place and in third place was Mr Sam Mason (RSM Coloproctology Section).

The judges included Professor Sir Simon Wessely, RSM President Elect and current President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists; Professor Iain Hutchison, Chief Executive and Founder of Saving Faces; Professor Gillian Leng, Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Health and Social Care, NICE; and Dr Krishna Kasaraneni, Chair of  Wesleyan's Junior Advisory Board.

Chair of the judges, RSM President Mr Babulal Sethia, said: "This was a fabulous evening of presentations and the quality was outstanding. We introduced a poster category to our awards evening for the first time this year and, like the oral presentations, the quality of work was exceptional."

The winner of the poster award was Dr Anna Rose (RSM Oncology Section) for her poster titled 'Copy number variation of MSR1 at the KLK14 locus is a major genetic determinant of non-familial breast cancer'.

Wesleyan's Head of Medical (South) Simon Rake added: "Wesleyan is proud to support this event, which recognises the best trainee doctors who put so much hard work into their research.

"Having been part of these awards for a number of years, it is great to see the event going from strength to strength. The quality of entries was, once again, very high.

The Royal Society of Medicine awards 70 prizes with a combined value of £60,000 to students and trainees each year. For more information visit


'WESLEYAN’ is a trading name of the Wesleyan Group of companies.

Wesleyan Assurance Society and Wesleyan Bank Ltd are authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority. Wesleyan Financial Services Ltd, Wesleyan Unit Trust Managers Ltd, Practice Plan Ltd and DPAS Ltd are authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.  Advice about investments, insurance and mortgages is provided by Wesleyan Financial Services Ltd.

Click for more information about the Wesleyan group of companies.

© 2018 Wesleyan Assurance Society