Board of Directors

Meet the Board

Nathan Moss

Society Chair and Chair of People, Culture and Governance Committee

Nathan was appointed Chair in January 2018, having joined the Society’s Board in July 2017.

He has more than 40 years’ experience in the wealth management, bank and insurance sectors, including with HSBC, Scottish Widows, Lloyds TSB and Friends Life.

Nathan served as a Non-Executive Director at Canada Life Group, where he chaired the group’s board risk committee and as Chair of Canada Life Platform Ltd and Stonehaven UK Ltd. Previously he was a Non-Executive Director at One Savings Bank plc, and Homeserve Membership Ltd. 

Anne Torry 

Senior Independent Director and Chair of the With Profits Committee

Anne joined the Board in January 2019. She is Chair of Wesleyan’s With Profits Committee and also sits on the Remuneration and People, Culture and Governance Committees. Anne was appointed as Senior Independent Director in January 2022.

She has more than 30 years’ experience of insurance, strategic leadership and change, working internationally in the general insurance, life and savings sectors. Most recently she served as CEO of Zurich UK Life.

Anne is a Non-Executive Director for Aon UK Ltd and Aon Investment Ltd, and Non-Executive Director of Homeserve Membership Ltd where she is also Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Risk Committee.

Gary Dixon

Chair of Audit Committee

Gary has over 30 years’ experience in financial services and regulation. After beginning his career at Coopers and Lybrand (now PwC), he joined Pointon York, a financial services group, where he rose to Chief Financial Officer.

Gary formed Resources Compliance UK Ltd, providing regulatory consultancy and risk advisory services to financial services firms. Following the sale of the group in 2008, he later became interim Chief Executive of Home and Capital Trust Limited Group.

He sits on the Board of fintech company Trading 212 (UK) Ltd and the Universities Superannuation Scheme. He is Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for both organisations.

He is also Chair of Council at the University of Leicester and sits on the Member Appointment Committee for the Financial Reporting Council (FRC) - the regulatory body for auditors, accountants and actuaries.

Linda Wilding

Chair of the Remuneration Committee and Chair of Investments Committee

Linda joined the Board on 1 June 2019 and was appointed Chair of the Remuneration Committee later in the year. Linda became Chair of the Investment Committee in December 2021.

She has extensive experience in the private equity investment and healthcare sectors and worked in the private equity division of Mercury Asset Management from 1989 to 2001.

She is currently a Non-Executive Director at BMO Commercial Property Trust plc, Sherborne Investors (Guernsey) C Limited and, subject to regulatory approval, will be a Non-Executive Director at Letterone Investment Holdings SA and Letterone Holdings SA. She is also a governor/trustee of a number of other not for profit organisations.

Philip Moore

Chair of the Risk Committee

Philip joined the Board in October 2020 and has almost 40 years’ experience within financial services.

Until his retirement in 2017, Philip was Group Finance Director for LV=. Prior to this, Philip held a number of roles, including Chief Finance Officer and then Chief Executive Officer at Friends Provident plc. Philip also spent nine years with PwC, where he developed its life actuarial business in the UK.

Philip serves on the Board of Bank of Ireland (UK) plc where he chairs the Audit and Risk Committees. He is a Non-Executive Director at Skipton Building Society and Connells Ltd. He is also a governor/trustee of a number of other not for profit organisations.

Ian McCaig

Non-Executive Director

Ian joined the Board on 30 September 2019 and was appointed to the Society’s Risk Committee. He is also Chair of Wesleyan Unit Trust Managers.

He has worked across a number of sectors, most recently as CEO of First Utility Ltd. He led the company through several years of significant growth before its acquisition by Shell at the end of 2017. Prior to that Ian was CEO of

Ian is also on the Board of Smart DCC where he is Senior Independent Director and Chair at Lumon.

Harpreet Sood

Non-Executive Director

Harpreet joined the Board in May 2021 and is a member of the Risk and People, Culture and Governance Committees and a Board member of Wesleyan Financial Services.

He is a practising NHS GP, a board member of Health Education England and an adviser to early-stage digital health companies. He co-founded the NHS Digital Academy, a programme to build leadership digital health and informatics workforce capability in England.

Harpreet was formally Senior Adviser to Health Technology at Reckitt and a Non-Executive Director at Digital Health London, a network that supports more than 30 digital health companies.

Rita Bajaj

Non-Executive Director

Rita joined the Board in May 2022 and is a member of the Audit and Investment Committees. Rita acts as the Board’s Consumer Duty Champion.

She has over 30 years’ experience working in global investment markets, including leading investment teams at Royal London and Invesco Perpetual. She has also managed global and US equity vehicles for several major US investment institutions.

Rita is a Board member at Benefact Group plc, Fidelity International Life and the London Pension Fund Authority, Non-Executive Director on Columbia Threadneedle OEIC Boards, and an Independent Governance Member for Hargreaves Lansdown’s workplace SIPP Committee.

Mario Mazzocchi

Group Chief Executive

Mario became Wesleyan Group CEO on 1 August 2019, having joined Wesleyan in December 2018 as Chief Operating Officer.

Mario is an attendee of the Risk, Audit, Remuneration and People, Culture and Governance Committees.

He moved from Lloyds Banking Group where he was Chief Operating Officer for the Insurance & Wealth Division having held a number of other senior appointments in the Group.

Before working at Lloyds, Mario gained extensive experience in different industries, markets and sectors including marketing, sales and strategy.

Nathan Beckett

Chief Financial Officer

Nathan joined Wesleyan in 2008 and has held a number of senior roles within the Society, including Head of Corporate Audit, Group Financial Controller, Finance Director of Practice Plan and Managing Director of Practice Plan. Most recently, Nathan has acted as Managing Director of Dental, General Insurance and Direct.

Nathan is a Chartered Accountant, joining Wesleyan following a career in audit practice and financial training. In addition to finance, Nathan will also have accountability for Wesleyan's Company Secretarial and Legal teams.

He is an attendee of the Risk and Audit Committees.